A few words from the new social work intern at TORCH

Posted on Updated on

Hi Alum! My name is Alexis (Lexi) Cariello and I am excited to be the new social work intern at TORCH this year (September through May).

A little about myself, in May I graduated from The University of Wisconsin where I majored in social work, and spent my spare time involved in diversity initiatives, working with youth in the community, doing yoga, going dancing, and spending time with great people. I spent the spring semester of my junior year in the beautiful country of Tanzania, East Africa, working in a juvenile prison and special education classroom. I am looking forward to going back and visiting some time soon. Growing up, I went to camp in Upstate New York every summer. I don’t think you can ever be too old for camp, and have for six years been involved in a summer camp program based in NYC for people with developmental disabilities. I’m happy to say I have returned to the east coast for graduate school at Columbia University. I am looking forward to being surrounded by the creative minds of all the TORCH students and meeting all of the alum.

You can look forward to a personal e-mail from me in the near future. Of course, feel free to contact me at alexis@thetorchprogram.org or 212-929-9573. Speak to you soon!

P.S. I hope to meet those of you who are local before or at the November 9th TORCH Benefit and L.I.G.H.T. Awards.

WELCOME LEXIE to the TORCH family!!!

_____________________________________________________________________

http://www.thetorchprogram.org                         http://www.twitter.com/TheTORCHPorgram

2 thoughts on “A few words from the new social work intern at TORCH

    Debi Deutsch said:
    October 2, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I can’t wait for everyone to meet Lexi – she’s great and can’t wait to meet all of you!

    circajoylynn said:
    October 3, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    We’re so happy to have you here, Lexi! Welcome to the TORCH family 🙂

Leave a Reply

